Receptionist Picks
English

AI receptionist pricing: what you'll pay at 50, 200 and 500 calls a month

AI receptionist prices worked out at 50, 200 and 500 calls a month for 13 services, with the per-call and per-minute math, overage, and the costs that catch people out.

At a glance

At a glance
ServiceBillingIncludedTry it freeBooks appointmentsTransfers live callsTexts callersHuman backup
Upfirst$24.95/moPer call30 callsFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
Quo$19/moPer call10 callsFree trialNot statedYesYesNot stated
Simple Phones$49/moPer call100 callsFree trialYesYesNot statedNot stated
Rosie$49/moFlat rate250 minFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
Goodcall$79/moFlat rate–Free trialYesYesYesNot stated
Phonely$50/moPer minute200 minFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
NextPhone$199/moFlat rateUnlimitedFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
Dialzara$29/moPer minute60 minFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
My AI Front Desk$99/moPer minute200 minFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
RingCentral AI Receptionist$49/moPer minute100 minFree trialYesYesYesNot stated
Smith.ai$150/moPer call75 callsFree planYesYesYesYes
Abby Connect$164/moPer minute50 minFree trialYesYesYesYes
Sameday AI$449/moPer minute500 minNot statedYesYesYesNot stated

AI receptionist prices run from a free 25-call plan to well over $1,000 a month, and the plans are hard to compare because they count different things. Some charge by the minute, some by the call, some by the unique caller, and a few charge one flat fee no matter how busy you get.

The only honest way to compare them is to pick a call volume and do the sum. Below we do that for three sizes of business, using each vendor’s published plans (linked on each tool’s page, and summed up in the table under this guide).

Upfirst pricing page with plans for 30 calls at $24.95, 90 calls at $59.95, 300 calls at $159.95 and 600 calls at $299 a month, the features included in every plan, and an Enterprise plan for 1,000+ calls
Upfirst's plans, priced by calls a monthupfirst.ai

The three ways you get billed

Per minute. You buy a bucket of talk time, such as 250 minutes, and pay a rate for every minute over (Rosie moves you up a plan instead). Rosie, Dialzara, Phonely, My AI Front Desk, RingCentral, Abby Connect and Sameday AI work this way. Long calls cost more. Watch the rounding: RingCentral bills in 30-second increments, so a 61-second call counts as 90 seconds.

Per call. You buy a number of answered calls. Upfirst, Smith.ai, Simple Phones and Quo’s Sona work this way. A ten-minute call costs the same as a one-minute call. Upfirst doesn’t count spam or calls under 15 seconds, and Quo skips calls under 15 seconds too. Goodcall is a variation: it counts unique callers per month, so a customer who calls three times counts once.

Flat. NextPhone charges $199 a month for unlimited inbound calls with no overage. Restaurant tools such as Loman and Slang AI price per location, and only through a quote.

Which is cheapest depends on how long your calls are and how many you get. That is why the examples below matter more than any “from $X” headline.

The assumptions

We use about 3 minutes per call, which is a reasonable middle for a service business: a booking, a quote question or a message. Three volumes:

  • 50 calls a month (150 minutes): a solo tradesperson or a small practice that only needs overflow and after-hours cover.
  • 200 calls a month (600 minutes): a busy small business that wants every call answered.
  • 500 calls a month (1,500 minutes): a multi-person office or a trade with seasonal rushes.

For each tool we pick the cheapest published plan, or plan plus overage, that covers the volume. Monthly billing, no annual discount. Tax, extra phone numbers and add-ons aren’t included.

At 50 calls a month

Service Cheapest way to cover it Monthly Per call
Simple Phones Basic, 100 calls included $49 $0.98
Rosie Professional, 250 minutes included $49 $0.98
Phonely Starter, about 200 minutes included $50 $1.00
Quo (Sona) Starter user $19 + Sona Tier 2 $25 (40 calls) + 10 × $0.75 $51.50 $1.03
Upfirst Starter, 30 calls + 20 × $1.50 $54.95 $1.10
Dialzara Business Lite, 60 minutes + 90 × $0.48 $72.20 $1.44
RingCentral Standalone, 100 minutes + 50 × $0.50 $74 $1.48
Smith.ai Free plan, 25 calls + 25 × $3.00 $75 $1.50
Goodcall Starter, 100 unique callers $79 $1.58
My AI Front Desk Business-in-a-Box, 200 minutes $99 $1.98
NextPhone Pro, unlimited $199 $3.98

At this size, several services land near $50. The differences are in what the cheap plan leaves out. Rosie’s $49 plan texts callers a booking link instead of booking into your calendar; direct booking and live transfers start on its $149 plan. Dialzara’s Business Lite has no calendar sync and only blind transfers. Phonely’s Starter has no outbound calling or CRM integrations. Upfirst puts every feature on every plan. Simple Phones has no overage rate: going over its call limit releases your phone numbers, so size the plan with room to spare.

Smith.ai’s free plan covers 25 calls outright. Overage is off by default, so you’d need to turn it on, at $3 a call, to cover 50.

Abby Connect ($246, with a live human team behind the AI) and Sameday AI ($449, built for the trades) are priced for bigger operations; at 50 calls they cost $5 to $9 a call.

At 200 calls a month

Service Cheapest way to cover it Monthly Per call
Goodcall Starter + extra callers, or Growth $105 to $129 $0.53 to $0.65
Quo (Sona) Starter user $19 + Sona Tier 4 $99 (250 calls) $118 $0.59
Simple Phones Advanced, 500 calls $149 $0.75
Rosie Scale, 1,000 minutes $149 $0.75
Phonely Professional, about 650 minutes $150 $0.75
Upfirst Pro, 300 calls $159.95 $0.80
My AI Front Desk 200 minutes + 400 minutes from credits $189 $0.95
NextPhone Pro, unlimited $199 $1.00
Dialzara Business Plus, 500 minutes + 100 × $0.40 $239 $1.20
RingCentral Standalone, 100 minutes + 500 × $0.50 $299 $1.50
Smith.ai Pro 150 calls ($270) + 50 × $2.30 $385 $1.93
Abby Connect Professional (400 AI minutes) + 200 × $1.50 $899 $4.50

Goodcall’s range depends on repeat callers. Goodcall estimates 100 unique callers make about 150 calls, so 200 calls is roughly 133 callers: $79 plus 33 × $0.79, about $105. If every call came from a new number, its $129 Growth plan (500 callers) covers it.

My AI Front Desk’s extra minutes come out of a credit pool: 25 credits ($0.25) a minute, with 1,000 credits included each month and $10 per 1,000 after that. So 400 extra minutes use 10,000 credits: the free 1,000 plus nine top-ups, $90.

Sameday AI’s Launch plan covers 500 minutes for $449; the other 100 minutes bill at a rate Sameday doesn’t publish. Its Scale plan covers it outright at $789.

This is the volume where pricing models start to matter. A per-minute plan with a small bucket (RingCentral’s 100 minutes) gets expensive fast on overage. Plans with large buckets (Rosie’s 1,000 minutes) or per-call pricing hold up well.

At 500 calls a month

Service Cheapest way to cover it Monthly Per call
Goodcall Growth, 500 unique callers $129 $0.26
Simple Phones Advanced at exactly 500 calls, or Premium (2,500) $149 to $249 $0.30 to $0.50
NextPhone Pro, unlimited $199 $0.40
Quo (Sona) Starter user $19 + Sona Tier 5 $199 (600 calls) $218 $0.44
Upfirst Scale, 600 calls $299 $0.60
Rosie Growth, 2,000 minutes $299 $0.60
Phonely Starter, about 200 minutes + 1,300 × $0.25 $375 $0.75
My AI Front Desk 200 minutes + 1,300 minutes from credits $419 $0.84
Dialzara Business Elite, 1,000 minutes + 500 × $0.35 $524 $1.05
RingCentral Standalone, 100 minutes + 1,400 × $0.50 $749 $1.50
Smith.ai Enterprise, 500 calls $800 $1.60
Abby Connect Growth (1,000 AI minutes) + 500 × $1.38 $2,070 $4.14

At this size, flat and unique-caller pricing win clearly. NextPhone’s $199 doesn’t move however much you talk, and Goodcall’s Growth plan covers 500 unique callers for $129. Simple Phones’ Advanced plan has no overage, so the $249 Premium plan is the safe choice if you sometimes go over 500.

RingCentral also sells extra minute bundles but doesn’t publish their prices, so ask what they cost before you commit. Phonely and My AI Front Desk both offer custom enterprise rates at this volume (Phonely advertises as low as 5 cents a minute; My AI Front Desk from 7 cents).

Sameday AI’s $789 Scale plan covers 1,000 of the 1,500 minutes, with the rest at an unpublished rate.

The costs that don’t show in the headline price

  • Feature gates. The cheapest plan often skips the thing you need most. Check that calendar booking and live transfer are on the plan you’re pricing. NextPhone’s CRM updates start at $299, and Rosie’s direct booking at $149.
  • HIPAA. A medical or dental office needs a signed BAA. Goodcall requires its $299 Scale plan; Upfirst only signs BAAs on Enterprise; NextPhone and Smith.ai can’t be used with patient health information at all.
  • Setup fees. Most self-serve services charge none. Quote-only tools can: a competitor’s survey of shared quotes puts Avoca’s setup fee at $600 (Upfirst).
  • Annual billing. Paying yearly saves roughly 15 to 20% at Upfirst, Rosie and NextPhone, but Upfirst doesn’t refund a prepaid year if you cancel.
  • Per-user pricing. Quo charges per user for its phone system, so a ten-person team pays for ten seats before adding Sona tiers.

Building your own costs less, sometimes

Developer platforms charge per minute for the raw parts. At 600 minutes, Bland AI’s $0.14 rate comes to $84, and Vapi’s own calculator puts 1,000 minutes at $82 to $129, so roughly $49 to $77 (Vapi pricing). That’s cheaper than most of the table, but someone has to build and maintain the agent. See AI voice agent vs AI receptionist.

Human answering services sit at the other end: Ruby’s 500-minute plan is $1,725, and AnswerConnect charges $575 for 400 minutes plus $1.85 a minute after. See AI receptionist vs answering service.

How to pick

  1. Count last month’s calls and guess their average length. Your phone bill or carrier dashboard usually shows both.
  2. If calls are long or volume is high, favor per-call, unique-caller or flat pricing. If calls are short and few, a small per-minute bucket is fine.
  3. Confirm the plan you’re pricing includes booking and transfer, and HIPAA if you need it.
  4. Use the free trial on real calls before you pay. Most of the services above have one.

For a ranked shortlist by price, see cheapest AI receptionists.

Features

Features
UpfirstQuoSimple PhonesRosieGoodcallPhonelyNextPhoneDialzaraMy AI Front DeskRingCentral AI ReceptionistSmith.aiAbby ConnectSameday AI
Starts at$24.95/mo$19/mo$49/mo$49/mo$79/mo$50/mo$199/mo$29/mo$99/mo$49/mo$150/mo$164/mo$449/mo
BillingPer callPer callPer callFlat rateFlat ratePer minuteFlat ratePer minutePer minutePer minutePer callPer minutePer minute
Free planNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoYesNoNo
Free trial14 days or 100 calls, whichever comes first, plus 25 texts; no credit card7-day free trial of Quo with all AI features, Sona included; paid Quo customers can also get a one-time 7-day Sona trial with unlimited calls that converts to paid unless canceled14 days7 days on every plan; cancel before it ends to avoid being chargedFree demo agent you can build and test; you pay once you add a phone numberFirst 100 minutes free7 days, cancel before it ends and you aren't charged7 days on every voice plan7 days; usage charges can still apply during the trial14-day free trial, standalone or with RingEXNoFree trial on every plan; length not statedNot stated
Month to monthYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNot statedYesYesNot stated
Setup feeNot statedNot statedNoneNot statedNoneNot statedNoneNoneNot statedNot statedNoneNoneNot stated
Phone number includedYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNot statedYesYesYesNot stated
Keep your numberYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Transfers live callsYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Books appointmentsYesNot statedYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Texts callersYesYesNot statedYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Call summariesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Call recordingYesYesNot statedYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Outbound callsNot statedNoYesNot statedNot statedYesNot statedYesYesNot statedYesYesYes
Spam filteringYesNot statedNot statedYesYesYesYesYesYesNot statedYesYesNot stated
Human backupNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYesYesNot stated
HIPAAYesYesNot statedNot statedYesYesNoNot statedYesYesNoYesNot stated
LanguagesEnglish, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Korean, Russian, VietnameseEnglish, Spanish, FrenchChinese, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, UkrainianEnglish, SpanishEnglishNot statedEnglish, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, VietnameseEnglish, Spanish, French, German, Hindi, Russian, Portuguese, Japanese, Italian, DutchEnglish, Spanish, Mandarin, VietnameseEnglish, Spanish, French, Italian, German, PortugueseEnglish, SpanishEnglish, SpanishEnglish, Spanish
CalendarsGoogle Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Square, Clio ManageNot statedNot statedGoogle Calendar, CalendlyGoogle CalendarGoogle CalendarGoogle Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Cal.com, OnceHubGoogle Calendar, Microsoft OutlookGoogle Calendar, Outlook, CalendlyGoogle Calendar, Outlook, CalendlyCalendly, Acuity Scheduling, Appointy, HarmonizelyGoogle Calendar, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Microsoft OutlookServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Jobber, FieldRoutes, Service Fusion
IntegrationsZapier, Make, Clio, Custom API actions, MCP serverJobber, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, Attio, Clio, HighLevel, Housecall Pro, JobTread, Gong, Slack, Google Contacts, Zapier, MakeZapier, TwilioZapier, ShopifyGoogle Sheets, HighLevel, ZapierGmail, Google Sheets, Google Drive, Microsoft Outlook, Slack, Zapier, Make, HubSpot, Salesforce, PipedriveClio Manage, Clio Grow, MyCase, Lawmatics, PracticePanther, HubSpot, Salesforce, GoHighLevel, Jobber, ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Zapier, Make, Slack, WebhooksZapier, MakeZapier, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, TheraNest, Jane App, CentralReach, Fusion Web Clinic, IntakeQ, Practice Better, AppFolio, Yardi, Buildium, Entrata, RealPage, Shopify, WooCommerce, KlaviyoSalesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, RingCentral RingEXSalesforce, HubSpot, Clio Grow, Clio Manage, MyCase, CallRail, Zapier, MakeSalesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, QuickBooks, Square, Zendesk, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Sheets, Google Drive, Google Contacts, Notion, Airtable, Asana, monday.com, TrelloServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Jobber, FieldRoutes, Service Fusion, FieldPulse, AccuLynx, JobNimbus, Maid Central, Thumbtack, Google Local Services, Angi
IndustriesReal estate, Law firms, Property management, Chiropractors, Contractors, Emergency restoration, Financial services, Franchises, HVAC, Insurance, Landscaping, Pest control, Plumbing, Restaurants, Salons, Towing, VeterinaryHome services, Law firms, Property management, Healthcare, EducationAny businessAny businessAny businessAny businessLegal, Financial services, Professional services, Real estate, Construction and trades, Home services, Beauty and personal care, Wellness and fitness, Food and dining, AutomotiveAny businessProperty management, Retail and ecommerce, Therapy practices, Real estate, Accounting and finance, Legal, AutomotiveHealthcare, Legal, Real estate, Financial services, Insurance, ConstructionLaw firms, Home services, Software and SaaS, Marketing agencies, General contractors, Finance, Hiring and staffing, InsuranceLegal, Home services, HVAC, Plumbing, Business services, Financial services, Healthcare, Beauty and wellness, Dental, Chiropractic, Accounting, Real estate, Property managementHVAC, Plumbing, Electrical, Pest control, Roofing, Garage door, Landscaping, Locksmith, Restoration, Solar, Cleaning

Sources

Upfirst

  1. Upfirst homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Upfirst pricing and FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Upfirst Help Center: pricing FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Upfirst integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Upfirst documentation: MCP server and custom actionsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Upfirst privacy policyChecked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Upfirst Help Center: adding Upfirst to your phone's home screenChecked Nov 8, 2026

Quo

  1. Quo pricing (plans, Sona credit tiers, integrations, add-ons, FAQ)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Quo: Sona AI agent (capabilities and FAQ: pricing, trial, languages, inbound only)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Quo help: Sona pricing (credits, tiers, overages, eligibility)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Quo help: Sona setup and configuration (call flows, voices, languages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Quo help: Sona actions (send SMS, transfer call, create Jobber request)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Quo help: Sona job guide (scheduling by booking link)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Quo help: HIPAA compliance (BAA on Business and Scale)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  8. Quo help: Managing your trial (7 days, includes Sona)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  9. Quo help: Install apps (web, Mac, Windows, iOS, Android)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  10. Quo help: Call transfer (manual transfers need Business or Scale)Checked Nov 8, 2026

Simple Phones

  1. Simple Phones homepage (features, FAQ and pricing table)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Simple Phones Help: Inbound CallsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Simple Phones Help: Outbound CallsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Simple Phones Help: RoutingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Simple Phones API: Call Details & TranscriptChecked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Simple Phones privacy policyChecked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Simple Phones blogChecked Nov 8, 2026

Rosie

  1. Rosie pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Rosie homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Rosie: dental answering service (new Rosie number at signup, call forwarding)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Rosie Shopify integrationChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Rosie bilingual answering serviceChecked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Rosie terms of serviceChecked Nov 8, 2026

Goodcall

  1. Goodcall homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Goodcall pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Goodcall FAQ: pricing, billing, phone numbers and HIPAAChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. How Goodcall worksChecked Nov 8, 2026

Phonely

  1. Phonely homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Phonely pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Phonely integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Phonely docs: integrations overviewChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Phonely docs: Transfer CallChecked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Phonely docs: Call History (transcripts and recordings)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Phonely docs: Send SMSChecked Nov 8, 2026
  8. Phonely docs: Call FlowsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  9. Phonely template: counseling appointments (setup and number forwarding)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  10. Phonely Terms of ServiceChecked Nov 8, 2026

NextPhone

  1. NextPhone homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. NextPhone pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. NextPhone security (AI training, SOC 2, BAAs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  4. NextPhone industriesChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. NextPhone: AI Receptionist on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026

Dialzara

  1. Dialzara homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Dialzara pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Dialzara FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Dialzara featuresChecked Nov 8, 2026

My AI Front Desk

  1. Frontdesk homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Frontdesk AI receptionist pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Frontdesk: AI phone receptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Frontdesk: AI calendar bookingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Frontdesk: AI receptionist for mental health practices (HIPAA, languages, EHRs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Frontdesk: AppFolio integration (also Yardi, Buildium, Entrata, RealPage pages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Frontdesk: Shopify integration (also WooCommerce, Klaviyo pages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  8. Frontdesk terms of service (trial, refunds, data use)Checked Nov 8, 2026

RingCentral AI Receptionist

  1. RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing, feature table and FAQ (minutes, overage, trial, HIPAA)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  2. RingCentral AI Receptionist product page and FAQ (capabilities, integrations, availability, data use)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  3. RingCentral RingEX business phone pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026

Smith.ai

  1. Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Smith.ai Hybrid pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Smith.ai AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists (FAQ on HIPAA, outbound calls, keeping your number)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  6. Smith.ai bilingual answeringChecked Nov 8, 2026
  7. Smith.ai integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026

Abby Connect

  1. Abby Connect pricing (plans, Abby Minutes, overage)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Abby Connect: AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Abby Connect homepage (human, AI or both)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Abby Connect FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Abby Connect: Outbound callsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  6. AbbyGo on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
  7. AbbyGo on Google PlayChecked Nov 8, 2026
  8. Abby Connect: Abby vs Conversational ("Included with Abby": Abby hosts your business number)Checked Nov 8, 2026

Sameday AI

  1. Sameday homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
  2. Sameday pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
  3. Sameday: AI CSRsChecked Nov 8, 2026
  4. Sameday: Avoca alternatives (its own plans, languages and integrations)Checked Nov 8, 2026
  5. Sameday AI on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026