AI receptionist vs answering service: cost, callers and which to choose
An AI receptionist costs a fraction of a live answering service. What you give up, what you gain, the math at 200 calls a month, and when a hybrid makes sense.
At a glance
| Service | Billing | Included | Try it free | Books appointments | Transfers live calls | Texts callers | Human backup | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upfirst | $24.95/mo | Per call | 30 calls | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Rosie | $49/mo | Flat rate | 250 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| NextPhone | $199/mo | Flat rate | Unlimited | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Smith.ai | $150/mo | Per call | 75 calls | Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Abby Connect | $164/mo | Per minute | 50 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Ruby | $250/mo | Per minute | 50 min | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| AnswerConnect | $350/mo | Per minute | 200 min | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
An answering service puts a live person on your calls when you can’t take them. An AI receptionist does the same job with software. Both answer in your business’s name, take messages, book appointments and transfer callers to you. The differences are in price, in how they handle unusual calls, and in what your callers hear.
Here’s how they compare for a small business, using the published prices of Ruby and AnswerConnect, two well-known human services, against AI receptionists such as Upfirst, Rosie and NextPhone, and two services that mix both: Smith.ai and Abby Connect.

The cost difference is large
Take 200 calls a month at about 3 minutes each, or 600 minutes.
| Service | Who answers | Plan | Monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rosie | AI | Scale, 1,000 minutes | $149 |
| Upfirst | AI | Pro, 300 calls | $159.95 |
| NextPhone | AI | Pro, unlimited calls | $199 |
| Smith.ai | AI | Pro 150 calls + 50 × $2.30 | $385 |
| Abby Connect | AI with human backup | Professional (400 AI minutes) + 200 × $1.50 | $899 |
| AnswerConnect | People | 550 minutes ($795) + 50 × $1.85 | $887.50 |
| Abby Connect | People | Growth, 500 minutes ($1,380) + 100 × $2.76 | $1,656 |
| Ruby | People | 500 minutes ($1,725) + 100 at an unpublished rate | over $1,725 |
| Smith.ai | People | Basic, 90 calls ($810) + 110 × $10.50 | $1,965 |
That’s roughly $0.75 to $2 a call for AI answering (about $4.50 for Abby Connect’s AI, which has people behind it), against $4.40 to $10 a call for live people.
The human figures are also a floor. Ruby bills in full minutes and counts hold time and the receptionist’s work after the call (Ruby pricing). AnswerConnect also rounds up and counts after-call work. So the minutes you’re billed run longer than the conversations themselves. AnswerConnect adds a $49.99 setup fee on some plans, and Smith.ai’s live plans charge extra per call for booking ($1.50), recording and transcripts ($0.25) and a Spanish line ($1.00).
For the same math at 50 and 500 calls, see the AI receptionist pricing guide.
What your callers hear
With an answering service, a person answers. Ruby’s receptionists are US-based (Ruby FAQ); Smith.ai’s receptionists are in North America, and Abby Connect’s work from its office in Las Vegas. AnswerConnect has pledged never to replace its people with bots (AnswerConnect).
With an AI receptionist, a computer voice answers. It sounds natural and follows a script you write, but it is still software. Some callers won’t notice or care; some will. If your callers are older, upset, or calling about something sensitive, that matters more.
What each does better
Live people are better at:
- Calls that need judgment. A distressed client, a complaint, an unusual request that isn’t in the script.
- Taking payments. Ruby’s receptionists take payments over the phone.
- Health information. Ruby signs a HIPAA business associate agreement at no extra cost. Smith.ai can’t handle protected health information on any plan, and Abby Connect’s HIPAA option covers its human answering only, not the AI.
AI receptionists are better at:
- Price, by a wide margin, as the table shows.
- Booking straight into your systems. AI receptionists book directly into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly and others; trade-specific ones like Sameday AI book into ServiceTitan or Jobber. Ruby’s receptionists book through Calendly and Google Calendar; AnswerConnect lists Setmore and Outlook.
- Languages. Ruby and AnswerConnect answer in English and Spanish (Spanish costs extra at AnswerConnect). NextPhone answers in 14 languages, switching when the caller does.
- Trying before you buy. Upfirst offers 14 days free, Rosie and NextPhone 7. Ruby and AnswerConnect have no free trial; Ruby gives new customers a 21-day money-back guarantee.
Both kinds are month to month at the services above, so you’re not locked in either way.
The middle option: AI first, humans behind it
If the price gap is tempting but you worry about the hard calls, a hybrid service lets the AI handle routine calls and sends the rest to a person.
Smith.ai sells an AI receptionist billed per call, with a free plan for 25 calls a month. When a call is beyond the AI, it can hand the caller to Smith.ai’s live receptionists, at no extra fee when the AI starts the handoff. A Hybrid plan, where you decide which calls go to people, is priced per call from about $2.50 through a consultation (Smith.ai hybrid).
Abby Connect sells one bucket of minutes for both. A minute answered by a person uses one Abby Minute; a minute answered by the AI uses half. You choose per type of call whether the AI, a person or both handle it, and the AI can warm-transfer to a human receptionist on the same call. All-AI answering still costs about $1.38 to $1.65 a minute, well above AI-only services, but half Abby’s human rate.
You can also build a simpler hybrid yourself: an AI receptionist that transfers to your own mobile when a caller asks for a person, or when a call matches rules you set. Upfirst, Rosie (from its $149 plan) and NextPhone all do warm transfers.
Which to choose
Choose an AI receptionist if most of your calls are routine (booking, quotes, hours, messages), you want every call answered for under $200 a month, and you or your staff can take the occasional transfer. That covers most trades, salons, agencies and small offices.
Choose a live answering service if your calls regularly need empathy or judgment, you take payments by phone, or you’re a medical practice that wants people handling patient calls under a BAA. Budget roughly $900 to $2,000 a month for 200 calls.
Choose a hybrid if you want AI prices for routine calls and a person for the rest, and you’re willing to pay somewhat more than AI-only for that safety net.
A practical test: forward only your after-hours calls to an AI receptionist on a free trial for two weeks and read the transcripts. If the calls it handled are fine and the ones it struggled with were few, you probably don’t need the human service.
More options on each side: the best AI answering services, Ruby alternatives and Smith.ai vs Ruby.
Features
| Upfirst | Rosie | NextPhone | Smith.ai | Abby Connect | Ruby | AnswerConnect | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starts at | $24.95/mo | $49/mo | $199/mo | $150/mo | $164/mo | $250/mo | $350/mo |
| Billing | Per call | Flat rate | Flat rate | Per call | Per minute | Per minute | Per minute |
| Free plan | No | No | No | Yes | No | No | No |
| Free trial | 14 days or 100 calls, whichever comes first, plus 25 texts; no credit card | 7 days on every plan; cancel before it ends to avoid being charged | 7 days, cancel before it ends and you aren't charged | No | Free trial on every plan; length not stated | No | No |
| Month to month | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Setup fee | Not stated | Not stated | None | None | None | None | $49.99 |
| Phone number included | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Keep your number | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Transfers live calls | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Books appointments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Texts callers | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call summaries | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call recording | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Outbound calls | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Spam filtering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Human backup | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| HIPAA | Yes | Not stated | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Languages | English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese | English, Spanish | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese | English, Spanish | English, Spanish | English, Spanish | English, Spanish |
| Calendars | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Square, Clio Manage | Google Calendar, Calendly | Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Cal.com, OnceHub | Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Appointy, Harmonizely | Google Calendar, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Microsoft Outlook | Calendly, Google Calendar | Setmore, Outlook |
| Integrations | Zapier, Make, Clio, Custom API actions, MCP server | Zapier, Shopify | Clio Manage, Clio Grow, MyCase, Lawmatics, PracticePanther, HubSpot, Salesforce, GoHighLevel, Jobber, ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Zapier, Make, Slack, Webhooks | Salesforce, HubSpot, Clio Grow, Clio Manage, MyCase, CallRail, Zapier, Make | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, QuickBooks, Square, Zendesk, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Sheets, Google Drive, Google Contacts, Notion, Airtable, Asana, monday.com, Trello | Clio, Grasshopper, HubSpot, Salesforce, Keap, Zoho, Follow Up Boss, JobNimbus, MyCase, Filevine, Rocket Matter, Law Ruler, Lawmatics, Google Voice, Nextiva, Slack, Microsoft Teams, FieldPulse, Zendesk, monday.com, Zapier | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Pipedrive, Keap, Copper, Less Annoying CRM, ServiceMinder, Clio, Clio Grow, PracticePanther, ConnectWise, Workiz, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zendesk, Freshdesk, Google Sheets, Zapier |
| Industries | Real estate, Law firms, Property management, Chiropractors, Contractors, Emergency restoration, Financial services, Franchises, HVAC, Insurance, Landscaping, Pest control, Plumbing, Restaurants, Salons, Towing, Veterinary | Any business | Legal, Financial services, Professional services, Real estate, Construction and trades, Home services, Beauty and personal care, Wellness and fitness, Food and dining, Automotive | Law firms, Home services, Software and SaaS, Marketing agencies, General contractors, Finance, Hiring and staffing, Insurance | Legal, Home services, HVAC, Plumbing, Business services, Financial services, Healthcare, Beauty and wellness, Dental, Chiropractic, Accounting, Real estate, Property management | Legal, Home services, Healthcare, Financial services, Business services, Small business | Healthcare, Legal, Real estate, Finance and insurance, E-commerce, Service providers, Marketing and media, Tech and manufacturing |
Sources
Upfirst
- Upfirst homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst pricing and FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: pricing FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst documentation: MCP server and custom actionsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst privacy policyChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: adding Upfirst to your phone's home screenChecked Nov 8, 2026
Rosie
- Rosie pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Rosie homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Rosie: dental answering service (new Rosie number at signup, call forwarding)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Rosie Shopify integrationChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Rosie bilingual answering serviceChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Rosie terms of serviceChecked Nov 8, 2026
NextPhone
- NextPhone homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone security (AI training, SOC 2, BAAs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone industriesChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone: AI Receptionist on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
Smith.ai
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Hybrid pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists (FAQ on HIPAA, outbound calls, keeping your number)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai bilingual answeringChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
Abby Connect
- Abby Connect pricing (plans, Abby Minutes, overage)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect homepage (human, AI or both)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: Outbound callsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AbbyGo on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AbbyGo on Google PlayChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: Abby vs Conversational ("Included with Abby": Abby hosts your business number)Checked Nov 8, 2026
Ruby
- Ruby plans and pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Ruby: AI at Ruby (Call Nav, transcripts, sentiment analysis, robocall filtering)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Ruby FAQs (billing increments, overage, contracts, HIPAA, bilingual, numbers)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Ruby: Get started (21-day money-back guarantee)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Ruby integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
AnswerConnect
- AnswerConnect homepage (how minutes are counted, people not bots)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Pledge People, Not BotsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Plans & Pricing (contact form)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Choose your plan (all plan prices, setup fees, overage, no contract)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Call routing and transfer (monthly rolling contracts)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Bilingual answering serviceChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Business phone numberChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Medical office answering service (HIPAA option)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect appChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect: Legal answering service FAQ (no trial period for new clients)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect Help Center: Email outbound callingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect Help Center: Outbound call listsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AnswerConnect Help Center: Blocking unwanted or spam callersChecked Nov 8, 2026






