The best Bland AI alternatives for an AI phone receptionist
Bland AI puts texting, warm transfers and HIPAA on Enterprise. Platforms that include them, and ready-made AI receptionists with HIPAA, priced at 200 calls a month.
At a glance
| Service | Billing | Included | Try it free | Books appointments | Transfers live calls | Texts callers | Human backup | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bland AI | $19.99/mo | Per minute | Unlimited | Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Retell AI | – | Per minute | – | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Vapi | $29/mo | Per minute | – | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Synthflow | – | Custom quote | – | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| My AI Front Desk | $99/mo | Per minute | 200 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist | $49/mo | Per minute | 100 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Goodcall | $79/mo | Flat rate | – | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
Bland AI is easy to try. Its free Start plan charges $0.14 a minute with the AI included, so 200 calls a month at about 3 minutes each costs about $84 plus $0.05 for every minute transferred to your team (Bland pricing). The trouble starts when you build a receptionist on it. Texting callers, warm transfers and a HIPAA BAA are Enterprise-only, booking is documented only for Cal.com, and Start caps you at 100 calls a day (Bland billing docs). The next step up, Build, adds a $299 monthly platform fee.
So the usual reasons to look elsewhere are a missing feature, not the per-minute price. The list below is in two parts.
- Ranks 1 to 3 are other voice-agent platforms, for teams who want to keep building their own agent.
- Ranks 4 to 6 are ready-made AI receptionists for owners who’d rather not build at all. Because Bland pitches itself to healthcare, insurance and financial services, we picked three that offer HIPAA.
Every price below is for the same example: 200 calls a month, about 3 minutes each, 600 minutes in total.
Voice-agent platforms
1. Retell AI fills most of Bland’s gaps without a contract. Agents text callers ($20 a month for SMS plus a cent a text), transfer calls, and book into Cal.com, Calendly, GoHighLevel, Google Calendar and Squarespace Scheduling (Retell integrations). You can sign a HIPAA BAA without an enterprise deal (Retell compliance). The price is a sum of parts: a $0.055-a-minute platform fee plus the model, voice and telephony you choose, which Retell puts at $0.07 to $0.31 a minute all in (Retell pricing). For 600 minutes that’s about $42 to $186, plus $2 a month for a number. You give up Bland’s single, predictable rate, but get a cheaper floor and the features a receptionist needs. Twenty concurrent calls are included, against 10 on Bland Start.
2. Vapi is for developers who want full control. It supports blind and warm transfers and books into Google Calendar and GoHighLevel (Vapi transfer docs). Texting works through your own Twilio account. Vapi charges $0.05 a minute for hosting plus your chosen providers at cost, about $0.08 to $0.13 a minute in its own calculator, so about $49 to $77 for 600 minutes (Vapi pricing). The catch for regulated businesses: HIPAA is a $2,000-a-month add-on. Compare the two in Vapi vs Bland AI.
3. Synthflow is the like-for-like enterprise swap. Like Bland Enterprise, it sells to contact centers and multi-location brands, offers engineers who build and launch the agents, and signs a HIPAA BAA. Unlike Bland, it has no self-serve plan at all: every deployment is an annual contract quoted after a scoping call (Synthflow pricing). Worth a call only if you were already negotiating a Bland Enterprise deal.
Ready-made AI receptionists with HIPAA
None of these needs prompts, flows or a developer. You sign up, describe your business and forward your number.
4. My AI Front Desk (now branded Frontdesk) is the cheapest of the three at our volume. The $99 plan includes 200 minutes, and extra minutes cost $0.25 from a credit pool that includes 1,000 credits (about 40 minutes) a month, so 600 minutes comes to about $189. It live-transfers urgent calls with a spoken summary, books into Google Calendar, Outlook or Calendly, texts confirmations, and offers a BAA (My AI Front Desk). The same plan adds a website chatbot, two-way texting and a simple CRM. It caps outbound calls at 20 a day and keeps only the last 200 logs on the self-serve plan.
5. RingCentral AI Receptionist suits businesses that want an established phone company behind their AI. It works on top of any phone system by forwarding or SIP, books into Google, Outlook or Calendly, texts callers, and answers in six languages. RingCentral says it is HIPAA and SOC 2 compliant and doesn’t train its AI on your data (RingCentral AI Receptionist). It’s pricier at volume: 100 minutes for $49, then $0.50 a minute, so about $299 for 600 minutes. The 14-day trial lets you test it first.
6. Goodcall bills per unique caller instead of per minute, so long calls cost nothing extra. Starter is $79 for 100 unique callers, but a HIPAA BAA needs the $299 Scale plan (2,000 unique callers), which is more than a 200-call business needs (Goodcall pricing). If you don’t handle health information, Starter or the $129 Growth plan covers the same volume for far less. It answers in English only.
How to choose
Keep building if you have a developer and need custom logic: Retell AI gives you texting, transfers and a BAA without Bland’s Enterprise gate, and Vapi gives you the most control. Move to Synthflow only for a contact-center contract.
If what you really wanted from Bland was a phone that gets answered, a ready-made receptionist will cost about $189 to $299 a month at 200 calls and be live this week. For medical offices, start with our AI receptionists for medical practices. Otherwise, see the best AI receptionists for small business, or read our Bland AI review for more on what Bland does well.
Alternatives
Our pick
–
A pay-as-you-go platform for building AI phone agents: you set up the agent, number and integrations, and pay per minute for each part of the stack.
Visit Retell AIStrengths
- No platform fee or contract: start with $10 in free credits and pay per second of use
- A dashboard builder with templates, plus an Auto Receptionist setup that starts from your website
- Books into Cal.com, Calendly and GoHighLevel and syncs calls to HubSpot, Salesforce and other CRMs
- Keep your existing number over SIP, or buy one for $2 a month
- Self-serve HIPAA BAA at no extra fee, plus SOC 2 Type II
- Agents can speak 55 languages, depending on the voice and speech-recognition providers chosen
Weaknesses
- You build and tune the agent yourself, or pay an implementation team or partner to do it
- The per-minute price stacks several fees (platform, model, voice, telephony, add-ons), so the real cost depends on choices a business owner may not understand
- Silence and hold time are billed, and numbers, SMS and extra concurrency cost extra each month
- Retell's own pages disagree on details such as the free allowance (60 minutes or $10 in credit)
$29/mo
A developer platform for voice AI agents: $0.05 a minute hosting plus the model, voice and transcription you pick, billed at cost.
Visit VapiStrengths
- Pick any model, voice and transcriber, billed at provider cost with no markup
- A free US number and $5 in credits let you call a test agent within minutes
- Dashboard templates for support and appointment scheduling, with Google Calendar and GoHighLevel booking tools
- Blind and warm transfers, call recordings and an automatic summary after each call
- Deep developer tooling: API, SDKs, CLI, config as code, simulations and monitoring
Weaknesses
- Built for developers: the receptionist logic, tools and providers are yours to configure
- Costs stack from separate hosting, model, voice, transcription and telephony charges
- The free number is US-only and inbound-only; outbound calls need a number from Twilio, Telnyx or another carrier
- Texting needs your own Twilio account
- HIPAA costs $2,000 a month extra
An enterprise voice AI platform for contact centers and multi-location brands, sold only as a custom annual contract with no per-minute rate or trial.
Visit SynthflowStrengths
- Synthflow's engineers can build and launch the agents for you
- Connects to contact-center phone systems (Five9, RingCentral, 8x8, Zoom) and CRMs such as Salesforce and HubSpot
- Keep your current carrier or phone system over SIP, or use your own Twilio account
- HIPAA with a BAA, SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and US or EU data hosting
- Agents speak 30+ languages and can switch language mid-call
Weaknesses
- Enterprise only: an annual contract with no published price, no trial and no self-serve signup
- Built for contact centers and multi-location brands rather than a single small business
- Launch takes weeks, depending on integrations, phone system and security review
- Choosing OpenAI models requires an Enterprise plan; Claude and custom models aren't supported
$99/mo
An AI receptionist that answers, transfers and books calls, bundled with chat, SMS and a CRM, from $99 a month for 200 minutes.
Visit My AI Front DeskStrengths
- Published price and overage: $99 a month for 200 minutes, then $0.25 a minute, with no contract
- Self-serve signup with a 7-day free trial
- Live-transfers urgent calls with a spoken summary and books into Google Calendar, Outlook or Calendly
- Website chat, two-way SMS, email drafts and a CRM come in the same plan
- Signs a BAA for HIPAA and connects to therapy, property-management and ecommerce software
Weaknesses
- Only 200 minutes on the self-serve plan; there is no larger published tier between it and custom Enterprise pricing
- Outbound calls are capped at 20 a day on Business-in-a-Box
- Keeps only the last 200 call and chat logs on Business-in-a-Box
- Usage charges can apply during the free trial, and refunds are generally not given
- API access is limited to custom Partner and Enterprise plans
RingCentral's AI receptionist (AIR) answers calls 24/7 on any phone system, books appointments and texts callers. From $49 a month for 100 minutes.
Visit RingCentral AI ReceptionistStrengths
- Works on top of any phone system by call forwarding or SIP, so you don't have to switch phone providers
- Published pricing: $49 a month for 100 minutes, $0.50 per extra minute, and a 14-day free trial
- Books appointments in Google, Outlook or Calendly calendars and logs leads to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho
- Answers in six languages and switches language mid-call, with eight voices to choose from
- HIPAA and SOC 2 compliant, and RingCentral says it doesn't train its AI on your data
Weaknesses
- Only 100 minutes are included; busier businesses pay $0.50 a minute past that
- Getting RingCentral's own business phone adds $30 per user a month on top of the AI receptionist
- Shopify and WhatsApp integrations are listed as coming soon, and the AI text agent may cost extra
- The standalone plan is only sold in the US and Canada
$79/mo
An AI phone agent you build by chatting with an assistant, billed per unique caller instead of per minute, from $79 a month for 100 callers.
Visit GoodcallStrengths
- Billed per unique caller, not per minute: long calls and callbacks from the same number that month cost nothing extra
- Published prices from $79 a month, month to month, with no setup fee and a local number included
- Set up and change the agent by telling Gabi in plain words, with practice calls and approval before anything goes live
- Transfers to up to three people in turn, retrying busy lines
- Books into Google Calendar and sends leads to Google Sheets, HighLevel or 10,000+ apps via Zapier
Weaknesses
- Answers in English only
- Local US numbers only: no toll-free, Canadian or international numbers yet
- You can't port your number in yourself; you forward your existing line instead
- Your Goodcall number can send texts but can't receive replies yet
- HIPAA use with a BAA needs the $299 Scale plan or Enterprise
Features
| Bland AI | Retell AI | Vapi | Synthflow | My AI Front Desk | RingCentral AI Receptionist | Goodcall | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starts at | $19.99/mo | – | $29/mo | – | $99/mo | $49/mo | $79/mo |
| Billing | Per minute | Per minute | Per minute | Custom quote | Per minute | Per minute | Flat rate |
| Free plan | Yes | No | No | No | No | No | No |
| Free trial | Free Start plan with 2 credits and an inbound number, no card required | $10 in free credits | $5 in free credits and a free US number for inbound calls | No | 7 days; usage charges can still apply during the trial | 14-day free trial, standalone or with RingEX | Free demo agent you can build and test; you pay once you add a phone number |
| Month to month | Not stated | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Setup fee | Not stated | None | None | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | None |
| Phone number included | Yes | No | Yes | No | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Keep your number | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Transfers live calls | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Books appointments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Texts callers | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call summaries | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call recording | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Outbound calls | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Spam filtering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Human backup | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| HIPAA | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Languages | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Polish, Russian, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Greek, Hungarian, Czech, Slovak, Romanian, Bulgarian, Ukrainian, Turkish, Hindi, Chinese (Mandarin), Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Malay | Afrikaans, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Cantonese, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Filipino, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Kazakh, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Marathi, Nepali, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Welsh | Not stated | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Catalan, Welsh, Greek, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, Polish, Romanian, Bulgarian, Czech, Slovak, Slovenian, Russian, Ukrainian, Turkish, Hebrew, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Hindi, Thai, Vietnamese, Indonesian | English, Spanish, Mandarin, Vietnamese | English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Portuguese | English |
| Calendars | Cal.com | Cal.com, Calendly, GoHighLevel, Google Calendar, Squarespace Scheduling | Google Calendar, GoHighLevel | Cal.com, GoHighLevel | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly | Google Calendar |
| Integrations | Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Twilio | HubSpot, Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Zoho CRM, GoHighLevel, Zendesk, Jobber, QuickBooks, Zapier, Make, n8n, Twilio, Vonage, Telnyx | GoHighLevel, Twilio, Telnyx, Vonage | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Zendesk, Freshworks, GoHighLevel, Twilio, Telnyx, Vonage, RingCentral, Five9, 8x8, Zoom | Zapier, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, TheraNest, Jane App, CentralReach, Fusion Web Clinic, IntakeQ, Practice Better, AppFolio, Yardi, Buildium, Entrata, RealPage, Shopify, WooCommerce, Klaviyo | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, RingCentral RingEX | Google Sheets, HighLevel, Zapier |
| Industries | Healthcare, Insurance, Financial services, Utilities, Government | Any business | Any business | Healthcare, Legal, Real estate, Home services | Property management, Retail and ecommerce, Therapy practices, Real estate, Accounting and finance, Legal, Automotive | Healthcare, Legal, Real estate, Financial services, Insurance, Construction | Any business |
Sources
Bland AI
- Bland pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: BillingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Agent Phone planChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Purchase a phone numberChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Bring your own TwilioChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Agent builderChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Integration tools (Cal.com, Salesforce, Slack)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: HubSpot integrationChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: SMSChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Warm transferChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Call details (summary, transcript, recording)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Send call (supported languages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Bland docs: Blocked numbersChecked Nov 8, 2026
Retell AI
- Retell AI pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell AI homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell AI: Auto ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell AI: Small business virtual receptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: IntroductionChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: IntegrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: Supported languages by providerChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: Post-call analysisChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: Send SMSChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: Data storage settings (recordings)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Retell docs: Compliance (HIPAA BAA)Checked Nov 8, 2026
Vapi
- Vapi pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: IntroductionChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Phone quickstartChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Free Vapi numbersChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Default tools (transfer, SMS)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Google Calendar toolChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: GoHighLevel toolsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Transfer callChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Call analysis (summaries)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Call recordingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Multilingual supportChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: Model providersChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Vapi docs: HIPAAChecked Nov 8, 2026
Synthflow
- Synthflow pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow: Enterprise AI receptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow: Voice AI cost (no self-serve plans for new customers)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: TelephonyChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Supported languagesChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: General configuration (AI models)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Cal.comChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: GoHighLevelChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Post-call SMSChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Post-call webhook (summary, transcript, recording)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Flow DesignerChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Multi-agent systemChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Synthflow docs: Phone numbers ($1.50 a month per purchased number)Checked Nov 8, 2026
My AI Front Desk
- Frontdesk homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk AI receptionist pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk: AI phone receptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk: AI calendar bookingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk: AI receptionist for mental health practices (HIPAA, languages, EHRs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk: AppFolio integration (also Yardi, Buildium, Entrata, RealPage pages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk: Shopify integration (also WooCommerce, Klaviyo pages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Frontdesk terms of service (trial, refunds, data use)Checked Nov 8, 2026
RingCentral AI Receptionist
Goodcall
- Goodcall homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Goodcall pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Goodcall FAQ: pricing, billing, phone numbers and HIPAAChecked Nov 8, 2026
- How Goodcall worksChecked Nov 8, 2026






