The best AI phone answering for restaurants
AI receptionists that take takeout orders, book tables in OpenTable or Resy, and answer the hours-and-parking calls, ranked for restaurants with real prices.
At a glance
| Service | Billing | Included | Try it free | Books appointments | Transfers live calls | Texts callers | Human backup | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loman | – | Flat rate | – | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Slang AI | $399/mo | Flat rate | – | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| NextPhone | $199/mo | Flat rate | Unlimited | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Upfirst | $24.95/mo | Per call | 30 calls | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
During a Friday rush, nobody on the floor wants to stop and answer “are you open on Monday?” for the tenth time. Restaurant phones ring with three kinds of calls: questions about hours, parking and the menu; reservations; and takeout orders. A general AI receptionist handles the first. Only restaurant-built tools handle the other two properly, because they need to talk to your reservation book or your POS.
That’s how we ranked the four tools in our listing that name restaurants among the businesses they serve: first by whether they take orders or reservations directly, then by price and contract terms. Prices assume 200 calls a month at about 3 minutes each where that matters; three of the four charge a flat monthly rate regardless.
1. Loman: best for takeout and delivery orders
Loman is built to take phone orders. It reads your menu, takes orders with modifiers, collects card payment on the call, suggests add-ons and sends the ticket to your POS: Toast, Square, Clover, SpotOn, Shift4 (SkyTab), Aloha, Olo or Stream (Loman). It also books tables in OpenTable or Resy, answers up to 50 calls at once, and keeps sold-out items in sync.
Its pricing page asks for a quote, but its own blog says plans start at $199 a month with unlimited calls and no per-minute fees (Loman vs Slang). Taking orders on the phone with POS integration is on the Premium tier, priced on request. You pick a 1, 3, 6 or 12 month initial term; leaving early makes the rest of the term due (terms). Onboarding takes 24 to 48 hours, Loman says. Read our Loman review.

2. Slang AI: best for reservation-led restaurants
Slang AI is built around reservations. It books and changes tables in OpenTable, SevenRooms, Resy or Yelp, collects special requests, captures private-event inquiries for Tripleseat or Perfect Venue, and routes VIPs to staff (Slang). Its Premium tier adds a voice that switches among 97 languages mid-call and cross-sells callers to your sister restaurants.
It starts at $399 a month per location, with Premium from $599, and every plan goes through a quote (pricing). No POS integration is listed, so it isn’t the tool for phone orders. New customers can cancel within the first 30 days and get that period’s fees back; after that, orders renew for the same term unless cancelled 30 days ahead (terms). Read our Slang AI review.

3. NextPhone: flat price for the questions and the bookings
NextPhone is a general AI receptionist that lists food and dining among its industries (industries). It answers questions from your website, books into Google, Outlook, Calendly and similar calendars, texts callers links, and transfers to your staff. It doesn’t name a reservation system or POS.
What suits restaurants is the price: $199 a month with unlimited calls and no overage, however busy the line gets. It answers in 14 languages. Use it to take the hours-and-directions calls off your staff and text a link to your online ordering or reservation page. There’s a 7-day free trial and no setup fee.

4. Upfirst: cheapest for a quiet line
Upfirst lists restaurants among the businesses it serves (Upfirst). Like NextPhone it handles questions, messages, transfers and texts, but names no reservation system or POS. It bills per call: 200 calls cost $159.95 on Pro, but a busy restaurant at 600 calls pays $299 and $0.70 for each call beyond. A small café with 80 calls a month pays $59.95.
You set it up yourself from your website with a 14-day trial, no card needed, and plans are month to month.

Which fits your restaurant
- Most of your phone calls are orders: Loman, so orders land in the POS and get paid on the call.
- Most calls are reservations or events: Slang AI.
- You mainly want questions answered and callers texted a link: NextPhone for busy lines, Upfirst for quieter ones.
Before signing with Loman or Slang, get the monthly price, any call or talk-time limits and any setup fee in writing. Both quote every plan, and both keep billing after the first term unless you cancel.
Best picks
Our pick
–
A restaurant AI phone agent that takes orders and payments into your POS and books tables, with flat pricing and no per-minute fees.
Visit LomanStrengths
- Takes full phone orders with modifiers and payment, straight into Toast, Square, Clover and other POS systems
- Flat monthly fee per location with no per-minute charges; its blog puts the start at $199 a month
- Answers many calls at once, so the line is never busy at peak
- Syncs the menu in real time, so sold-out items and price changes apply mid-call
- Answers in 55 languages, detecting the caller's language and sending tickets in English
- Live in 24 to 48 hours, keeping your existing number by forwarding
Weaknesses
- Its pricing page has no prices: you request a quote and book a demo
- Priced per location on a 1 to 12 month initial term; leaving early makes the rest of the term due, and fees are non-refundable
- No free trial on its site, only a demo call
- Restaurants only
$399/mo
An AI phone host for full-service restaurants that answers questions and books reservations in OpenTable, Resy or SevenRooms, from $399 per location.
Visit Slang AIStrengths
- Built for reservations: books, changes and cancels in OpenTable, SevenRooms, Resy and Yelp
- Publishes starting prices per location, $399 Core and $599 Premium
- Premium answers in 97 languages and can switch mid-call
- Call recordings and summaries, with VIPs routed straight to staff
- Captures private-event leads into Tripleseat or Perfect Venue
- SOC 2 Type 2 compliant
Weaknesses
- Priced per location, so groups pay for every restaurant
- No self-serve signup: every plan goes through a quote
- No POS integration listed, so it isn't built for taking takeout orders by phone
- Call limits, contract length and setup fees aren't published; its terms auto-renew each order for the same length unless cancelled 30 days before it ends
- Setup time is unclear: the same page says same day and within the first week
$199/mo
An AI receptionist for law firms and service businesses with unlimited calls at a flat $199 a month, no per-minute fees and a 7-day free trial.
Visit NextPhoneStrengths
- Flat $199 a month for unlimited inbound calls, with no per-minute charges, overage fees or setup fee
- Self-serve signup with a 7-day free trial, month-to-month with no contract
- Answers in 14 languages, switching when the caller does, with 30 voices to choose from
- Books into Google, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Cal.com and OnceHub and texts the caller a confirmation
- Says it never trains AI on your calls and has opted out of training with every AI provider it uses
Weaknesses
- Doesn't sign BAAs, and its terms forbid use with protected health information
- Hasn't completed a SOC 2 audit of its own
- CRM updates and Zapier, Make and API access start at the $299 Growth plan
- 2-way texting and calling from your business number need the $599 Scale plan
- No toll-free numbers
$24.95/mo
An AI receptionist that answers calls and texts 24/7, books appointments and blocks spam, from $24.95 a month for 30 calls.
Visit UpfirstStrengths
- Cheap entry point: $24.95 a month for 30 calls, or $20 billed annually
- Every feature on every plan, including booking, warm transfers, texting, recordings and 35+ languages
- Spam, robocalls and calls under 15 seconds don't count toward your calls
- 14-day trial (up to 100 calls) with no credit card, and month-to-month plans
- Books into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square and Clio Manage, with Zapier and Make for the rest
Weaknesses
- Small plans fill up fast: 30 calls on Starter, then $1.50 per extra call
- No refund if you prepay a year and cancel
- BAAs for compliance are only on the custom Enterprise plan
- No native mobile app; the web app can be saved to a phone's home screen
- Each extra agent, for another location or business line, adds $9.95 a month
Features
| Loman | Slang AI | NextPhone | Upfirst | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starts at | – | $399/mo | $199/mo | $24.95/mo |
| Billing | Flat rate | Flat rate | Flat rate | Per call |
| Free plan | No | No | No | No |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated | 7 days, cancel before it ends and you aren't charged | 14 days or 100 calls, whichever comes first, plus 25 texts; no credit card |
| Month to month | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Setup fee | Not stated | Not stated | None | Not stated |
| Phone number included | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Keep your number | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Transfers live calls | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Books appointments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Texts callers | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call summaries | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call recording | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Outbound calls | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Spam filtering | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Human backup | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| HIPAA | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes |
| Languages | Afrikaans, Arabic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Cantonese, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Filipino, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Kazakh, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Marathi, Nepali, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Welsh | English, Spanish | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese | English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese |
| Calendars | OpenTable, Resy | OpenTable, SevenRooms, Resy, Yelp | Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Cal.com, OnceHub | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Square, Clio Manage |
| Integrations | Toast, Square, Clover, SpotOn, Shift4 (SkyTab), Aloha by NCR, Olo, Stream, OpenTable, Resy | OpenTable, SevenRooms, Resy, Yelp, Tripleseat, Perfect Venue | Clio Manage, Clio Grow, MyCase, Lawmatics, PracticePanther, HubSpot, Salesforce, GoHighLevel, Jobber, ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Zapier, Make, Slack, Webhooks | Zapier, Make, Clio, Custom API actions, MCP server |
| Industries | Restaurants | Restaurants | Legal, Financial services, Professional services, Real estate, Construction and trades, Home services, Beauty and personal care, Wellness and fitness, Food and dining, Automotive | Real estate, Law firms, Property management, Chiropractors, Contractors, Emergency restoration, Financial services, Franchises, HVAC, Insurance, Landscaping, Pest control, Plumbing, Restaurants, Salons, Towing, Veterinary |
Sources
Loman
- Loman homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Loman pricing (plans, request pricing)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Loman blog: Loman vs. Slang AI (states the $199 a month starting price), Aug 18, 2026Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Loman terms and conditions (fees, initial term, auto-renewal, call recordings)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Loman: Multilingual phone answering (55 languages)Checked Nov 8, 2026
Slang AI
- Slang AI homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Slang AI pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Slang AI Terms of Service (30-day pilot period, order form auto-renewal)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Slang AI vs Sadie (Slang starting at $399/month)Checked Nov 8, 2026
NextPhone
- NextPhone homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone security (AI training, SOC 2, BAAs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone industriesChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone: AI Receptionist on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
Upfirst
- Upfirst homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst pricing and FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: pricing FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst documentation: MCP server and custom actionsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst privacy policyChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: adding Upfirst to your phone's home screenChecked Nov 8, 2026



