The best AI receptionist for law firms
AI receptionists that take legal intake, book consultations and connect to Clio or MyCase, ranked by cost at 200 calls a month and how they hand off to a person.
At a glance
| Service | Billing | Included | Try it free | Books appointments | Transfers live calls | Texts callers | Human backup | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | $150/mo | Per call | 75 calls | Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| NextPhone | $199/mo | Flat rate | Unlimited | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Upfirst | $24.95/mo | Per call | 30 calls | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | |
| Abby Connect | $164/mo | Per minute | 50 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist | $49/mo | Per minute | 100 min | Free trial | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
For a law firm, a missed call is often a missed client. Someone with a new matter calls the next firm on the list. An AI receptionist answers every call, asks your intake questions, books a consultation and sends you the details, so you can call back the cases worth taking.
We ranked tools that name law firms among the businesses they serve. The order weighs how well they handle intake and scheduling into the systems firms use (Clio, MyCase and similar), what happens with a caller in distress or a sensitive matter, and what they cost at 200 calls a month at about 3 minutes each (600 minutes).
1. Smith.ai: AI intake with live receptionists behind it
Smith.ai sells an AI receptionist alongside its live receptionists, and lists law firms among the businesses it serves. Its AI qualifies leads, books appointments, and connects to Clio Grow, Clio Manage and MyCase (integrations). When a caller needs a person, the AI can pass the call to Smith.ai’s own receptionists at no extra fee when the AI starts the escalation (AI pricing). For a firm, that matters: a distressed caller or a complicated matter reaches a human even when you’re in court.
At 200 calls it costs $385 (150 included calls plus 50 at $2.30) or $500 for 300 calls. Because it bills per call, long intake conversations don’t cost more. The free plan answers 25 calls a month, so you can hear it on real callers first. Cancelling a paid plan takes 30 days’ notice. Compare it with a human-only service in Smith.ai vs Ruby.

2. NextPhone: flat price, built around legal intake
NextPhone is pitched at law firms and service businesses. It asks your intake questions, books consultations into Google, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Cal.com or OnceHub, and transfers calls to your team with a spoken introduction (NextPhone). It answers in 14 languages.
Every plan has unlimited calls with no overage. Pro at $199 covers 200 calls and stays $199 at 2,000. Updating Clio, MyCase, Lawmatics or PracticePanther needs Growth at $299, where NextPhone’s team also builds and tunes the agent for you (pricing). It hasn’t completed a SOC 2 audit of its own, which some firms’ clients will ask about.

3. Upfirst: cheapest way to book into Clio
Upfirst books straight into Clio Manage, along with Google, Outlook, Calendly and Acuity, on every plan (integrations). At 200 calls its Pro plan costs $159.95 for 300 calls. A solo practitioner with fewer calls can start at $59.95 for 90.
You set it up yourself from your website and test it with a 14-day trial, no card needed. Calls it can’t handle go to your team by warm transfer or become a message.

4. Abby Connect: when you want people on the line
Abby Connect mixes AI with live receptionists and lists legal among its industries. You choose which call types the AI handles and which go to a person, and the AI can warm-transfer to a human receptionist on the same call (AI receptionist).
It costs more than the AI-only picks: AI minutes work out to about $1.38 to $1.65 each, so 600 AI minutes run roughly $899 a month. It suits a firm moving off a human answering service that wants to keep people on new-client calls while the AI handles scheduling and routine questions. Abby doesn’t name a legal practice-management system among its integrations.

5. RingCentral AI Receptionist: for firms already on RingCentral
RingCentral’s AI Receptionist lists legal among its industries, routes callers by name, department or intent, captures intake with custom questions, and hands calls to staff with a summary (product page). It works with any phone system, or as a $39 add-on for RingCentral phone customers.
The pricing suits a small firm: $49 a month for 100 minutes, then $0.50 a minute. At 600 minutes that’s about $299. It connects to Salesforce, HubSpot and Zoho, but no legal practice software is listed.

What to set up before going live
- Write intake questions that screen, not advise. The AI should collect the matter type, the other party’s name for a conflict check, and contact details, and never answer legal questions.
- Decide which calls must reach a person. Existing clients, opposing counsel and anyone in an emergency should be transferred.
- Check where intake lands. If you live in Clio, Smith.ai, NextPhone (Growth) and Upfirst write to it; with the others, someone copies details over.
Quo, a phone system with a built-in AI agent, also connects to Clio, but Quo names no calendar it books into; it texts callers a booking link. For more options, see Smith.ai alternatives.
Best picks
Our pick
$150/mo
AI receptionist billed per call, with a free 25-call plan, plus live North America-based receptionists from $300 a month.
Visit Smith.aiStrengths
- Free AI plan with 25 real calls a month, not a time-limited trial
- AI can hand a call to Smith.ai's live North America-based receptionists, with no fee when the AI starts the escalation
- Bills per call, not per minute, with every price and overage rate published
- Test the AI with simulated calls in Quality Studio before it answers real callers
- Month to month, no setup fee, and a dedicated number included or keep your own
Weaknesses
- Not HIPAA-compliant: it can't handle calls involving protected health information
- Extra AI calls cost more than included ones ($2.17 to $3.00 each)
- Live receptionist plans are expensive, from $300 for 30 calls, and booking, recording and Spanish cost extra per call
- Cancelling the AI Receptionist needs 30 days' notice
- Hybrid AI-plus-human pricing needs a consultation
$199/mo
An AI receptionist for law firms and service businesses with unlimited calls at a flat $199 a month, no per-minute fees and a 7-day free trial.
Visit NextPhoneStrengths
- Flat $199 a month for unlimited inbound calls, with no per-minute charges, overage fees or setup fee
- Self-serve signup with a 7-day free trial, month-to-month with no contract
- Answers in 14 languages, switching when the caller does, with 30 voices to choose from
- Books into Google, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Cal.com and OnceHub and texts the caller a confirmation
- Says it never trains AI on your calls and has opted out of training with every AI provider it uses
Weaknesses
- Doesn't sign BAAs, and its terms forbid use with protected health information
- Hasn't completed a SOC 2 audit of its own
- CRM updates and Zapier, Make and API access start at the $299 Growth plan
- 2-way texting and calling from your business number need the $599 Scale plan
- No toll-free numbers
$24.95/mo
An AI receptionist that answers calls and texts 24/7, books appointments and blocks spam, from $24.95 a month for 30 calls.
Visit UpfirstStrengths
- Cheap entry point: $24.95 a month for 30 calls, or $20 billed annually
- Every feature on every plan, including booking, warm transfers, texting, recordings and 35+ languages
- Spam, robocalls and calls under 15 seconds don't count toward your calls
- 14-day trial (up to 100 calls) with no credit card, and month-to-month plans
- Books into Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity, Square and Clio Manage, with Zapier and Make for the rest
Weaknesses
- Small plans fill up fast: 30 calls on Starter, then $1.50 per extra call
- No refund if you prepay a year and cancel
- BAAs for compliance are only on the custom Enterprise plan
- No native mobile app; the web app can be saved to a phone's home screen
- Each extra agent, for another location or business line, adds $9.95 a month
$164/mo
A hybrid answering service: an AI receptionist and US-based live receptionists on one plan, from $164 a month. AI minutes count half.
Visit Abby ConnectStrengths
- AI and live US-based receptionists on one plan, chosen per call type, with warm transfer to a person on the same call
- AI minutes count half, so a plan covers up to twice as many minutes when the AI answers
- Published prices, a free trial, no setup fee and month-to-month terms
- AI answers in English and Spanish, detecting the caller's language, and books into Google Calendar, Calendly and Acuity
- Transcripts, AI summaries, sentiment scores and recordings for every call in the app and portal
Weaknesses
- Even all-AI answering costs about $1.38 to $1.65 a minute, well above most AI-only receptionists
- Usage is billed by the minute, so long calls eat the plan quickly
- HIPAA compliance is offered only for human answering, not the AI
- Trial length isn't published, and human receptionists book appointments only through Calendly
RingCentral's AI receptionist (AIR) answers calls 24/7 on any phone system, books appointments and texts callers. From $49 a month for 100 minutes.
Visit RingCentral AI ReceptionistStrengths
- Works on top of any phone system by call forwarding or SIP, so you don't have to switch phone providers
- Published pricing: $49 a month for 100 minutes, $0.50 per extra minute, and a 14-day free trial
- Books appointments in Google, Outlook or Calendly calendars and logs leads to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho
- Answers in six languages and switches language mid-call, with eight voices to choose from
- HIPAA and SOC 2 compliant, and RingCentral says it doesn't train its AI on your data
Weaknesses
- Only 100 minutes are included; busier businesses pay $0.50 a minute past that
- Getting RingCentral's own business phone adds $30 per user a month on top of the AI receptionist
- Shopify and WhatsApp integrations are listed as coming soon, and the AI text agent may cost extra
- The standalone plan is only sold in the US and Canada
Features
| Smith.ai | NextPhone | Upfirst | Abby Connect | RingCentral AI Receptionist | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starts at | $150/mo | $199/mo | $24.95/mo | $164/mo | $49/mo |
| Billing | Per call | Flat rate | Per call | Per minute | Per minute |
| Free plan | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Free trial | No | 7 days, cancel before it ends and you aren't charged | 14 days or 100 calls, whichever comes first, plus 25 texts; no credit card | Free trial on every plan; length not stated | 14-day free trial, standalone or with RingEX |
| Month to month | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Setup fee | None | None | Not stated | None | Not stated |
| Phone number included | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Keep your number | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Transfers live calls | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Books appointments | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Texts callers | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call summaries | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Call recording | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Outbound calls | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| Spam filtering | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated |
| Human backup | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| HIPAA | No | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Languages | English, Spanish | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese | English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese | English, Spanish | English, Spanish, French, Italian, German, Portuguese |
| Calendars | Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Appointy, Harmonizely | Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Cal.com, OnceHub | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Square, Clio Manage | Google Calendar, Calendly, Acuity Scheduling, Microsoft Outlook | Google Calendar, Outlook, Calendly |
| Integrations | Salesforce, HubSpot, Clio Grow, Clio Manage, MyCase, CallRail, Zapier, Make | Clio Manage, Clio Grow, MyCase, Lawmatics, PracticePanther, HubSpot, Salesforce, GoHighLevel, Jobber, ServiceTitan, Housecall Pro, Zapier, Make, Slack, Webhooks | Zapier, Make, Clio, Custom API actions, MCP server | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, Pipedrive, ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, QuickBooks, Square, Zendesk, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Sheets, Google Drive, Google Contacts, Notion, Airtable, Asana, monday.com, Trello | Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, RingCentral RingEX |
| Industries | Law firms, Home services, Software and SaaS, Marketing agencies, General contractors, Finance, Hiring and staffing, Insurance | Legal, Financial services, Professional services, Real estate, Construction and trades, Home services, Beauty and personal care, Wellness and fitness, Food and dining, Automotive | Real estate, Law firms, Property management, Chiropractors, Contractors, Emergency restoration, Financial services, Franchises, HVAC, Insurance, Landscaping, Pest control, Plumbing, Restaurants, Salons, Towing, Veterinary | Legal, Home services, HVAC, Plumbing, Business services, Financial services, Healthcare, Beauty and wellness, Dental, Chiropractic, Accounting, Real estate, Property management | Healthcare, Legal, Real estate, Financial services, Insurance, Construction |
Sources
Smith.ai
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Hybrid pricingChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai Virtual Receptionists (FAQ on HIPAA, outbound calls, keeping your number)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai bilingual answeringChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Smith.ai integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
NextPhone
- NextPhone homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone pricing and FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone security (AI training, SOC 2, BAAs)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone industriesChecked Nov 8, 2026
- NextPhone: AI Receptionist on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
Upfirst
- Upfirst homepageChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst pricing and FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: pricing FAQsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst integrationsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst documentation: MCP server and custom actionsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst privacy policyChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Upfirst Help Center: adding Upfirst to your phone's home screenChecked Nov 8, 2026
Abby Connect
- Abby Connect pricing (plans, Abby Minutes, overage)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: AI ReceptionistChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect homepage (human, AI or both)Checked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect FAQChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: Outbound callsChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AbbyGo on the App StoreChecked Nov 8, 2026
- AbbyGo on Google PlayChecked Nov 8, 2026
- Abby Connect: Abby vs Conversational ("Included with Abby": Abby hosts your business number)Checked Nov 8, 2026




